Beyonce drops surprise new album Lemonade

25th April 2016 Off By Pamela Bilalova

Beyonce released her sixth studio album, Lemonade, during one-hour special on HBO on Saturday night (Apr 23).

It contains 12 new songs and it is the star’s second so-called “visual album”.

Collaborators include The Weeknd, Kendrick Lamar and Jack White, and the track Don’t Hurt Yourself was co-written by members of Led Zeppelin.

Beyonce also wrote two songs with Diplo.

The singer says Lemonade is based on “every woman’s journey of self knowledge and healing” and described it as “a conceptual project”.

However, people online have been concentrating on the fact that several tracks possibly hint at Jay Z’s infidelity.

In Pray You Catch Me she sings: You can taste the dishonesty / It’s on your breath as you pass it off so cavalier.

In another tune, Don’t Hurt Yourself, featuring Jack White, Bey declares: “This is your final warning/You know I give you life/If you try this sh*t again you gon’ lose your wife.”

The much anticipated record was released as an exclusive on Tidal, the streaming service co-owned by Beyonce herself, Jay-Z, Rihanna and other music stars.

It was later made available for purchase on iTunes here

Beyonce released the new song “Formation” on Feb 6 and announced The Formation World Tour the next day.

The superstar is set to perform at the Stadium of Light on June 28.